The Powers of Your Morning Routine

Hey Courage Seekers!  What do you do every morning to set yourself up for a happy day?  I would like to share with you my own morning routine and a few tricks I think make all the difference in this crucial part of the day.  This post is an example of some of simple topics I’d like to cover within The Collective.  I know I always benefit from trying something new here and there in my daily routine so I hope you get something out of this and then feel inspired to share your own tip in the comment section below.

When I was starting work at 8:30am everyday, I started getting up at this time and it just stuck.  As long as I go to bed around 11pm every night, I get my 7 hours in and have had enough rest to last me through the day.  Some folks feel good with only 6 hours but I’m a 7 hour girl so I make it a point to start unwinding by around 10:30 each night.  Oh and by the way I’m talking primarily weekdays here, my routine often looks quite different on the weekend simply because they’re more social with later nights and lazier days.

First thing I do when I get up is drink a big glass of water – lemon water if I’m really on top of my game.  The benefits of doing this are endless.  According to this article by Wellness Mama, a glass of lemon water in the morning helps digestion, is a natural flush, boosts your immune system, and improves your skin.  All of those things sounds so nice, why wouldn’t you stick a little lemon slice in there?!

After that, I go over to our little yoga corner and do my mindfulness meditation.  Most days this will be for around ten minutes but sometimes it is longer or shorter depending on how I’m feeling that day.  I’ve been using meditation to set me up for my day as opposed to unwinding at the end as I imagine some folks might prefer.  I may even throw in a little yoga flow or two just to get my blood flowing.

At the end of my meditation, I set an intention for the day either out loud or just to myself.  I think it’s been the same intention for the past 20 days!  I just feel like one day isn’t enough to let it sink in.  My intention is to be kind to myself.  This has been a huge part of my journey to self-love, acceptance, and compassion.  Especially through some recent big changes, I want to cultivate self-talk that is encouraging, kind, and understanding.  Being my own worst critic will not serve me now or ever.

Following my mindfulness sesh, I have a little alarm set on my phone that goes off everyday reminding me to ‘listen to my script!’  This is a 5 minute recording of me talking to myself – strange, I know.  But it came out of my coach training from Certified Coaches Federation and it is a tool that not only reminds me of my goals everyday, but also allows my mind to experience the reality and self talk that I desire for myself.  In hearing this, I create new, positive thought patterns in my mind that only duplicate and fuel new positive thought patterns,  If you are interested in learning more about the script and how I use it in one on one coaching, please connect with me!

From there, I’ll go into the typical morning tasks like showering, eating breakfast, and getting ready for the day.  If I know that I’ll need to take a lunch with me that day or won’t have time to cook breakfast, I take 20 minutes to get this done the night before.  An overnight oats and berries breakfast is a super quick way to achieve a quick and painless breakfast.  Try this recipe by Minimalist Baker if you’re curious!

The thing about a good morning routine, in my opinion, is keeping it meaningful and simple.  So I wouldn’t walk away from this post and try to do all of these changes in one go.  Maybe just introduce one thing, like the lemon water or the meditation.  Overwhelming change is not the most effective way of building a habit.  Habits are built over time, with commitment – and for me, they easily stick when I create a sturdy path of least resistance to get there.  For example, if I want to have those overnight oats as an option, I’m going to make sure to put the ingredients on my grocery list each week to ensure I always have what it takes.  Frustration with the little things surrounding a positive change often lead to giving up on it.

I’d love to hear about some of the things that make your morning routine great!  Please share in the comment box below.

You are worthy and beautiful. X

B

2 thoughts on “The Powers of Your Morning Routine

  1. In my coaching, I learnt to write my 40 declarations and I read them expectantly every morning.
    Ex: I declare to be the most empowering and loving mother that I can be.
    It reminds me of what is important for me and helps me to stay focused on those important things all through the day. Loved your post👍

    Like

Leave a Reply

