Is It Really That Easy?

Copy of Copy of Copy of Courage Stories.jpgLast week I attended a ballet class with a new friend of mine.  I hadn’t been in a dance studio since December of last year when I finished a series of classes at the National Ballet School. In going to the class, I suspected that my body and mind were not going to be in ‘ballet shape’ simply because I’ve had such a long break.  I had to decide if I was going to let the hour and a half class go by and allow my behaviour and thoughts go on autopilot or rather, take control of that autopilot and steer it in the direction I wanted.  I chose the latter and it made a world of difference.

Being in a room of mirrors in a skin tight outfit, practicing an art form that encourages perfectionism, can make it challenging to keep a positive, light-hearted mindset.  I used to mentally beat myself up in class when I couldn’t remember an exercise or when my body wasn’t doing what I knew it was capable of.  Taking a drop in class leaves me with 90 minutes to obsess over my faults or 90 minutes to celebrate my love for movement and enjoy the place and space I fell in love with as a little girl.

I blew myself away by how much fun I was able to have and how kind I was to myself during the class.  I looked in the mirror and intentionally thought about how strong I was and how happy just moving around the studio was making me.  I let go of comparing myself to the others and instead went out of my way to congratulate one dancer on her amazing turns and beautiful feet.  I let love and gratitude out instead of jealousy and resentment.  And I literally just decided to behave this way.  Can it really be this easy?  Now that I’ve practiced grabbing hold of my thoughts and mindset, I am finding that it might very well be as easy as deciding to be positive.  Deciding to radiate gratitude.  Deciding to be kind to yourself.

I just wanted to share this with you because maybe you’re going through something similar or perhaps you’ll walk away feeling inspired.  I want you to know that you are just as vital to this conversation as I am – and I am listening.  If there is a topic you’d like me to cover or questions you may have,  please comment below or contact me directly.  I can’t tell you enough how much I appreciate your support.  Thanks for encouraging my courage!

You are beautiful and worthy and oh so amazing.

B

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Is It Really That Easy?

Leave a Reply

