Courage Stories No. 5

Hello all!  Welcome to the 5th Courage Stories post.  This week we have kick ass millennial, Connie Wang.  She’s a show stopping Toronto-based actor with so much to share about courage, transition, and unlearning negative beliefs/values.  Her YouTube videos speak the honest, sometimes hard to hear, truth and I believe that all quarter lifers could benefit from hearing her perspective.  Connie has been on such a journey lately and I’m so grateful to have her featured on The Courage Collective.  Hoping this post leaves you feeling a little more god or goddess-like today!  


profpic4.jpg

Connie Wang is an interdisciplinary artist, divine Goddess, and spiritual warrior. She is working towards being the happiest person on the planet through rigorous mental and emotional training. Connie finds more and more of her truth everyday and is living her purposeful life while combatting all her demons. You can follow her journey on her youtube channel as well as her social media links.

YoutubeInstagram.  Facebook.  Twitter.


What is your definition of ‘courage’?

To have courage is to battle one’s own demons in order to find and to live his/her happy place. Courage is working against all voices/barriers telling me that I can’t or that I’m not good enough. Courage is something that I have to meet through all the negativity. To do something courageous feels like I am leaping into something that I’ve never felt before which makes sense because I was living in fear most of my life. Courage is the vehicle that gets me to my truth. It’s the drive that gets me from where I am now (negative/doing things for others) to my positive, honest, happy self.

What do you think is the biggest challenge that 20 and 30 somethings face today?

The biggest challenge is finding who we are in this chaotic, loud, extra stimulating world. To get to know oneself is the quest for every person. People don’t realize that we are born with our individual wisdom and truth. We are born with power and it’s up to the individual to find that and use it to live their purposeful life.  

It’s a challenge for us Millennials because we grew up in a heavy media run society that filled our brains with images, slogans, and subliminal messages that have distracted us from knowing our own truths. We don’t realize that we have choice. We think that we are being forced to do things or to listen to the media, but we have so much power by saying no. Only when our minds are quiet do we get to be with ourselves.

What do you do everyday that inspires you and keeps you on track?

I meditate an hour in the morning and an hour sometime in the afternoon or the evening. I also listen to Abraham Hicks twice a day. My meditation sessions allow for me to purge out any negative thoughts and energies that I have acquired throughout the day and during my sleep. The positive affirmations by Abraham Hicks allows me to shift my energies into alignment with my source. So I go about my day with major positive Connie gusto hehe.  

What was the most recent risk you took?

I quit all my joe jobs and I started pursuing a happy life. People like to think that I’m only focusing on my career as an actor/youtuber, but it’s so much more than that. My career is apart of my happiness plan, but my ultimate goal and why I continually take risks in my day to day life is to be the happiest version of myself. I’ve never been this happy and scared ever. The scared part becomes less and less of a problem and the happy part becomes more pronounced by the day. I still have my low moments, but it will never feel as low as before because my days are filled with doing things that I’m inspired to do.

What advice would you give someone who is struggling to find their direction and doubts their abilities?

You have the power to do what you want and what you  need. You have choice. I always hear “I can’t because so and so…or because I might not blah blah or because of this and this and this.” It’s all just an excuse to resist doing what your spirit truly wants to do. To have courage is to listen to your spirit and go against everything you have ever known or been taught. It takes courage to get you to where you truly want to be. It’s not enough to just wish upon a star because the wishing won’t make your dreams come true. You do it. It’s about you taking action. Do you know how hard Walt Disney worked to make his dreams come true? Hours and days and years of planning, trial and error, attempts, “mistakes”, until it all clicked in and the magick he’d been manifesting all blew up. It’s not an easy task to get what you want because we are faced with so many things that distract us from listening to our inner voice. When you listen to anything other than yourself, it will destroy you. It’s never too late to stop listening to others and to start listening to yourself.

How do you stay confident?

I stay confident by focusing on everything that I am. Sounds easy, but I didn’t realize that I was the one limiting myself until the other day. I’m confident knowing that there is no one like me in the world. No one has the same perspective as me, the same ideas as me, the same beauty as me, the same intelligence as me, or the same fun factor as me! I don’t want to be anyone else, and I embrace all that I am. The good, the bad, the ugly…it’s all amazing.

What does your self-talk sound like?

My self talk is adaptable to the situation that I’m in. In general, my self-talk throughout the day is super positive and fun. My self talk is really funny and I’m always cracking jokes, but when I need to get work done, it knows to get serious. This one comes up all the time when I catch myself having a judgemental/negative/raging thought, “It’s okay Connie!” haha it’s super sweet and cute.

What are you working on right now?  What should we know about you and your current venture?

Currently, I am pursuing my acting and youtubing career full-time. I make youtube videos for Tuesdays and Fridays. My series on Tuesdays is called, the birds and the bees: sex ed for youth. The series is meant to empower youth by giving them sex 101 knowledge. My series on Fridays is called, finding my happiness, which is a commentary on all the wonderful changes that have happened to me as a result of daily meditation. In terms of acting in the film and television industry, I’m pretty busy with auditions so all of this together takes up a lot of my time during the week. On weekends, I make time for trips, friends, and new adventures. I have been working weekends since I was 16 until I quit my job last month. So having my weekends off is a huge fun adjustment that I love.


Thanks to Connie for her beautiful insight!  Now what are you waiting for!?  Go check out her channel.

I wanted to leave you with a request.  If you know someone who you think would make an amazing feature in The Courage Stories series, please nominate them.  You can reach out to me through info@thecouragecollective.ca and let me know why you think they would be a good fit for inspiring other quarter lifers to embrace courage and go for it.

As always, remember your immense worth and beauty today y’all!

B

Leave a Reply

